Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

    By Ed Catmull
From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, the Academy Award winning studio behind "Inside Out "and "Toy Story, "comes an incisive book about creativity in business sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. "Fast Company "raves that "Creativity, Inc. " just might be the most thoughtful management book ever.
"NEW YORK TIMES" BESTSELLER -NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY"The Huffington Post ""Financial Times ""Success Inc. Library Journal
"Creativity, Inc." is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation into the meetings, postmortems, and Braintrust sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.
For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the "Toy Story" trilogy, "Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, "and" WALL-E, "which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really "is." Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired and so profitable.
As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, "Toy Story" was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie s success and in the thirteen movies that followed was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:
Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
If you don t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
It s not the manager s job to prevent risks. It s the manager s job to make it safe for others to take them.
The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
A company s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
Praise for "Creativity, Inc."
Over more than thirty years, EdCatmull has developed methods to root out and destroy the barriers to creativity, to marry creativity to the pursuit of excellence, and, most impressive, to sustain a culture of disciplined creativity during setbacks and success. Jim Collins, co-author of "Built to Last "and author of" Good to Great"
Too often, we seek to keep the status quo working. This is a book about breaking it. Seth Godin"
Ed Catmull is the president of Pixar, and a winner of the Coons Award, the highest achievement in the computer graphics field.


NEWS: The FT Press/McKinsey Business Book of the Year Shortlist

Posted September 25, 2014, 6:38 PM with category of Publishing Industry
A shortlist for the 2014 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award was announced yesterday. The books chosen focus very much on the big-picture issues of the day, "the most important trends shaping our world" as the press release puts it, so the switch from Goldman Sachs to McKinsey as a partner to FT has not reduced the scope of the books as I thought it may. (I speculated back in May when the announcement was made that McKinsey would now be backing the award that it may change focus to the more nuts-and-bolts business management issues that McKinsey ostensibly focuses on in its own work. Read more



  Choose a format
  •   For use in United States   United-states-16

Your price: $13.99/ea

App required iOS or Google Play
ISBN 9780679644507
Language English
Publish Date 04/07/2014
Publisher Random House

Interested in eBooks?Please read our brief introduction before purchasing.