A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future

    By Daniel H Pink
Lawyers. Accountants. Radiologists. Software engineers. That's what our parents encouraged us to become when we grew up. But Mom and Dad were wrong. The future belongs to a very different kind of person with a very different kind of mind. The era of "left brain" dominance, and the Information Age that it engendered, are giving way to a new world in which "right brain" qualities-inventiveness, empathy, meaning-predominate. That's the argument at the center of this provocative and original book, which uses the two sides of our brains as a metaphor for understanding the contours of our times.

In the tradition of Emotional Intelligence and Now, Discover Your Strengths, Daniel H. Pink offers a fresh look at what it takes to excel. A Whole New Mind reveals the six essential aptitudes on which professional success and personal fulfillment now depend, and includes a series of hands-on exercises culled from experts around the world to help readers sharpen the necessary abilities. This book will change not only how we see the world but how we experience it as well.

    ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Daniel H. Pink is a former White House speechwriter and the author of the bestseller Free Agent Nation, A contributing editor at Wired magazine, he has written on work, business, and politics for The New York Times, Harvard Business Review, Slate, Salon, Fast Company, and other publications. He has also lectured to corporations, universities, and associations around the world on economic transformation and business strategy, and has analyzed commercial and social trends for dozens of television and radio programs.

    RELATED ARTICLES

NEWS: Free Teleconversation with Dan Pink Today

Posted June 6, 2008, 2:20 PM with category of General Business
At 9am PST today (Friday), Dan Pink is hosting a *free* teleconversation with readers. He's taking questions and registrations. Dan's the author of the of A Whole New Mind and more recently, the first manga business book, The Adventures of Johnny Bunko. Read more

NEW RELEASES: April Titles

Posted March 31, 2008, 10:10 PM with category of General Business
As we start the next month, here are a few of the titles coming out in April that are sure to be covered in various media outlets. From the author of A Whole New Mind, comes the first ever manga business book. Dan Pink's The Adventures of Johnny Bunko: The Last Career Guide You'll Ever Need. Read more

NEWS: Best Books To Make Best Workplaces

Posted October 8, 2007, 12:36 PM with category of General Business
Last week, The Wall Street Journal announced their Top Small Workplaces 2007 winners. The Journal asked the folks who run those places what books they would recommend to others trying to create first-class workplaces. Here the alphabetical list of their selections. Read more


    SHARE THIS
Embedicon
 
9781573223089
eBook

  Choose a format

Your price: $19.96/ea
LIST PRICE: $24.95

Hardcover Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 - 24 $19.96 20%
25 - 99 $17.46 30%
100 - 499 $16.22 35%
500 - 999 $15.72 37%
ISBN: 9781573223089

Need 1000 or more?

Additional discounts may be available. Please call 1-800-236-7323 for more information.

You may also place an order online at the highlighted discount for any quantity over 500.
Language English
Pages 272
Published 01/2005
Publisher Riverhead Books