90s Bitch: Media, Culture, and the Failed Promise of Gender Equality

By Allison Yarrow

To understand how we got here, we have to rewind the VHS tape. 90s Bitch tells the real story of women and girls in the 1990s, exploring how they were maligned by the media, vilified by popular culture, and objectified in the marketplace. Trailblazing women like Hillary Clinton, Anita Hill, Marcia Clark, and Roseanne Barr were undermined. Newsmakers like Monica Lewinsky, Tonya Harding, and Lorena Bobbitt were shamed and misunderstood. The advent of the 24-hour news cycle reinforced society's deeply entrenched sexism. Meanwhile, marketers hijacked feminism and poisoned girlhood for a generation of young women.

Today, there are echoes of 90s "bitchification" nearly everywhere we look. To understand why, we must revisit and interrogate the 1990s--a decade in which female empowerment was twisted into objectification, exploitation, and subjugation.

Yarrow's thoughtful, juicy, and timely examination is a must-read for anyone trying to understand 21st century sexism and end it for the next generation.



    REVIEW QUOTES
"Allison Yarrow is a feminist and a muckraker in the tradition of Betty Friedan, Naomi Klein, and bell hooks. Her enthralling new book, 90s Bitch, takes a long overdue sledgehammer (and, when needed, a scalpel) to the misogynistic myths that cloud our view of that troubling decade. Like all great cultural historians, she examines every sordid cranny of our culture--its sexual mores, its pop culture and rampant consumerism--so as to lay bare the marching orders issued by the patriarchy: that women should shut up and put out, sell out, sell themselves short, and most of all obey. Yarrow's prose is brilliant, her insights are razor-sharp, and her moral aim is essential. If America is ever going to recover from the Trumpian tailspin wrought by masculine insecurity, we need feminists like Allison Yarrow keeping us all honest."--Steve Almond, author of Bad Stories: What the Hell Just Happened to Our Country
"90s Bitch is a book we need right now. Allsion Yarrow takes the full measure of misogyny in America -- then and now -- and she KO's it like the champion she is. This is a trilling read, smart and lyrical and -- above all -- necessary. The book would be on my recommended reading-list at any time, but during the Trump era it should be mandatory. "--Darin Strauss, NBCC-winning author of Half A Life



    SHARE THIS
Embedicon
 
9780062412348
eBook

  Choose a format

Price: $13.59/ea
LIST PRICE: $16.99

Bulk Paperback Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 - 24 $13.59 20%
25 - 99 $11.89 30%
100 - 499 $11.04 35%
500 - 999 $10.70 37%
ISBN: 9780062412348

About the Paperback

Publisher Harper Perennial
Publish date 06/19/2018
Pages 416
ISBN-13 9780062412348
ISBN-10 0062412345
Language English

Need 1000 or more?

Additional discounts may be available for print books. We also offer pricing for RETURNABLE orders. Please call 1-800-236-7323 or email us to request a quote.