Beer Money: A Memoir of Privilege and Loss

By Frances Stroh

In the tradition of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist's struggle to find her way out of the ruins.

Frances Stroh's earliest memories are ones of great privilege: shopping trips to London and New York, lunches served by black-tied waiters at the Regency Hotel, and a house filled with precious antiques, which she was forbidden to touch. Established in Detroit in 1850, by 1984 the Stroh Brewing Company had become the largest private beer fortune in America and a brand emblematic of the American dream itself; while Stroh was coming of age, the Stroh family fortune was estimated to be worth $700 million.

But behind the beautiful facade lay a crumbling foundation. Detroit's economy collapsed with the retreat of the automotive industry to the suburbs and abroad and likewise the Stroh family found their wealth and legacy disappearing. As their fortune dissolved in little over a decade, the family was torn apart internally by divorce and one family member's drug bust; disagreements over the management of the business; and disputes over the remaining money they possessed. Even as they turned against one another, looking for a scapegoat on whom to blame the unraveling of their family, they could not anticipate that even far greater tragedy lay in store.

Featuring beautiful evocative photos throughout, Stroh's memoir is elegantly spare in structure and mercilessly clear-eyed in its self-appraisal--at once a universally relatable family drama and a great American story.



    REVIEW QUOTES
Stroh s absorbing memoir suggests that most cocoons are permeable and that privilege is relative. --New York Times Book Review"
"Beer Money" is one of those memoirs you neither put down nor forget. I ll remember Frances Stroh s family and the beautifully candid, honest and often unforgettable voice she uses to describe them for a long time. I was very moved by this book. --George Hodgman, author of "Bettyville""
In "Beer Money," Frances Stroh takes us on a fascinatingand often chillingjourney into the world of dark privilege. In prose that is both beautiful and unflinching, Stroh tells a riveting story about the fall of an American family, an American city, and possibly the American Dream itself. --Janis Cooke Newman, author of "A Master Plan for Rescue""



    SHARE THIS
Embedicon
 
9780062393166
eBook

  Choose a format

Price: $13.59/ea
LIST PRICE: $16.99

Bulk Paperback Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 - 29 $13.59 20%
30 - 99 $11.89 30%
100 - 499 $11.04 35%
500 - 999 $10.19 40%
ISBN: 9780062393166

About the Paperback

Publisher Harper Perennial
Publish date 05/30/2017
Pages 352
ISBN-13 9780062393166
ISBN-10 0062393162
Language English

Need 1000 or more?

Additional discounts may be available for print books. We also offer pricing for RETURNABLE orders. Please call 1-800-236-7323 or email us to request a quote.