Beneath a Ruthless Sun: A True Story of Violence, Race, and Justice Lost and Found

By Gilbert King
"Compelling, insightful and important, Beneath a Ruthless Sun exposes the corruption of racial bigotry and animus that shadows a community, a state and a nation. A fascinating examination of an injustice story all too familiar and still largely ignored, an engaging and essential read." --Bryan Stevenson, author of Just Mercy

From the author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning bestseller Devil in the Grove, the gripping true story of a small town with a big secret.

In December 1957, the wife of a Florida citrus baron is raped in her home while her husband is away. She claims a "husky Negro" did it, and the sheriff, the infamous racist Willis McCall, does not hesitate to round up a herd of suspects. But within days, McCall turns his sights on Jesse Daniels, a gentle, mentally impaired white nineteen-year-old. Soon Jesse is railroaded up to the state hospital for the insane, and locked away without trial.
But crusading journalist Mabel Norris Reese cannot stop fretting over the case and its baffling outcome. Who was protecting whom, or what? She pursues the story for years, chasing down leads, hitting dead ends, winning unlikely allies. Bit by bit, the unspeakable truths behind a conspiracy that shocked a community into silence begin to surface.

Beneath a Ruthless Sun tells a powerful, page-turning story rooted in the fears that rippled through the South as integration began to take hold, sparking a surge of virulent racism that savaged the vulnerable, debased the powerful, and roils our own times still.



    REVIEW QUOTES
"Pulitzer Prize winner King returns with a new nonfiction story for those craving a Serial-esque fix... King provides a glimpse into the past that is equal parts enlightening, frustrating, and invariably un-put-downable." --Harper's Bazaar

"A true-crime masterwork." --Men's Journal "A powerful page-turner." --Garden & Gun "A book for true-crime aficionados as well as anyone interested in criminal justice reform.. .King delves into a complicated rape case that is rife with corruption, and in doing so, he shines a light on issues of sex, race, and class." --Bustle

"The perversions of justice under Jim Crow chart a devious path in this labyrinthine true crime saga... Packed with riveting characters and startling twists, King's narrative unfolds like a Southern gothic noir probing the recesses of a poisoned society." --Publisher's Weekly (starred)

"A spellbinding true story of racism, privilege, and official corruption...By turns sobering, frightening, and thrilling, this meticulous account of the power and tenacity of officially sanctioned racism recalls a dark era that America is still struggling to leave behind." --Kirkus Reviews (starred)

"This book is every bit as gripping as the author's Pulitzer-winning Devil in the Grove...Gripping history, vividly told." --Booklist (starred) "Compelling, insightful and important, Gilbert King exposes the corruption of racial bigotry and animus that shadows a community, a state and a nation. A fascinating examination of an injustice story all too familiar and still largely ignored, an engaging and essential read." --Bryan Stevenson, author of Just Mercy

"In the tradition of Harper Lee, Gilbert King tells the story of a small southern town corrupted by racism, a perverse genteel honor, and utter disdain for poor "crackers." Three women stand out in this gripping tale of a falsely accused man: an unrelenting reporter, a mother, and a victim doubly victimized as a pawn of others' ambitions. In deftly unraveling a tragic mixture of lies, violence, and hatred, King powerfully reminds us how the unpalatable beliefs of 1957 haunt us still." --Nancy Isenberg, author of White Trash

"Gilbert King's stunning chronicle of race, sex and power in fatal combination yields so many truly tragic turns that it's almost uncanny when goodness endures. With breakneck drama and cold clarity, Beneath a Ruthless Sun captures the sultry particulars of a uniquely charged place and time as well as a universal truth about how difficult it is for humans in the aggregate to do the right thing." --Diane McWhorter, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Carry Me Home: Birmingham, Alabama--the Climactic Battle of the Civil Rights Revolution

Praise for Devil in the Grove

"Must read, cannot put down history." -The New York Times

"A taut, intensely readable narrative." -Boston Globe

"A powerful and well-told drama of Southern injustice." -The Chicago Tribune




    SHARE THIS
Embedicon
 
eBook

  Choose a format

Price: $22.40/ea
LIST PRICE: $28.00

Bulk Hardcover Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 - 24 $22.40 20%
25 - 99 $17.36 38%
100 - 249 $16.80 40%
250 - 499 $16.24 42%
500 - 999 $15.96 43%
ISBN: 9780399183386

About the Hardcover

Publisher Riverhead Books
Publish date 04/24/2018
Pages 432
ISBN-13 9780399183386
ISBN-10 0399183388
Language English

Need 1000 or more?

Additional discounts may be available for print books. We also offer pricing for RETURNABLE orders. Please call 1-800-236-7323 or email us to request a quote.