Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

By Ed Catmull
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Huffington Post - Financial Times - Success - Inc. - Library Journal
From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, the Academy Award-winning studio behind Inside Out and Toy Story, comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership--sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Fast Company raves that Creativity, Inc. -just might be the most thoughtful management book ever.-

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation--into the meetings, postmortems, and -Braintrust- sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture--but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, -an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.-
For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, WALL-E, and Inside Out, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired--and so profitable.
As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie's success--and in the thirteen movies that followed--was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on leadership and management philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:
- Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
- If you don't strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
- It's not the manager's job to prevent risks. It's the manager's job to make it safe for others to take them.
- The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
- A company's communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
Praise for Creativity, Inc.
-Over more than thirty years, Ed Catmull has developed methods to root out and destroy the barriers to creativity, to marry creativity to the pursuit of excellence, and, most impressive, to sustain a culture of disciplined creativity during setbacks and success.---Jim Collins, co-author of Built to Last and author of Good to Great
-Too often, we seek to keep the status quo working. This is a book about breaking it.---Seth Godin


    RELATED ARTICLES

INTERVIEWS: Margaret Heffernan on Business and Books

Posted May 21, 2015, 10:30 AM with category of Personal Development & Human Behavior
We conclude our Thinker in Residence series with Margaret Heffernan by asking her a few questions about our bread and butter—business and books. Read more

NEWS & OPINION: 2014 FT/McKinsey Book of the Year Announced

Posted November 12, 2014, 3:13 PM with category of Publishing Industry
The business and economic world's most visible book award was announced today. Read more

NEWS & OPINION: The FT Press/McKinsey Business Book of the Year Shortlist

Posted September 25, 2014, 6:38 PM with category of Publishing Industry
A shortlist for the 2014 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award was announced yesterday. The books chosen focus very much on the big-picture issues of the day, "the most important trends shaping our world" as the press release puts it, so the switch from Goldman Sachs to McKinsey as a partner to FT has not reduced the scope of the books as I thought it may. (I speculated back in May when the announcement was made that McKinsey would now be backing the award that it may change focus to the more nuts-and-bolts business management issues that McKinsey ostensibly focuses on in its own work. Read more

NEWS & OPINION: The FT Press/McKinsey Business Book of the Year Longlist

Posted August 7, 2014, 6:44 PM with category of Publishing Industry
I speculated back in May when submissions opened for The Financial Times and McKinsey & Company 2014 Business Book of the Year Award that the books they looked at would be more focused on business nuts-and-bolts issues now that a consultancy firm (McKinsey) had taken over for an investment bank (Goldman Sachs) as the Financial Times' partner on the awards. I also thought they would not be announcing a longlist as they had in the past because it was not on their awards schedule. It seems I was wrong on both counts, because The Financial Times and McKinsey announced a longlist this morning, and the books on it are mostly big-picture books, not nut-and-bolts business and management books. Read more





    CONTRIBUTIONS


    SHARE THIS
Embedicon
 
9780812993011
eBook

  Choose a format

Price: $22.40/ea
LIST PRICE: $28.00

Bulk Hardcover Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 - 24 $22.40 20%
25 - 99 $17.36 38%
100 - 249 $16.80 40%
250 - 499 $16.24 42%
500 - 999 $15.96 43%
ISBN: 9780812993011

About the Hardcover

Publisher Random House
Publish date 04/08/2014
Pages 340
ISBN-13 9780812993011
ISBN-10 0812993012
Language English

Need 1000 or more?

Additional discounts may be available for print books. We also offer pricing for RETURNABLE orders. Please call 1-800-236-7323 or email us to request a quote.


Interested in eBooks?

If you would like pricing and availability on eBooks (25 copy minimum/US billing only), click the link below to send an email directly to our trusted digital distribution partner, BookShout.
Request a quote for eBooks

Other questions about eBooks can be directed to support@800ceoread.com.