The Girls

By Emma Cline
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides sThe Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan s A Visit from the Goon Squad.
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST AND NPR
Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence.
Emma Cline s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.
Praise for The Girls
Spellbinding . . . A seductive and arresting coming-of-age story hinged on Charles Manson, told in sentences at times so finely wrought they could almost be worn as jewelry . . . [Emma] Cline gorgeously maps the topography of one loneliness-ravaged adolescent heart. She gives us the fictional truth of a girl chasing danger beyond her comprehension, in a Summer of Longing and Loss. The New York Times Book Review
[The Girlsreimagines] the American novel . . . Like Mary Gaitskill sVeronicaor Lorrie Moore sWho Will Run the Frog Hospital?, The Girlscaptures a defining friendship in its full humanity with a touch of rock-memoir, tell-it-like-it-really-was attitude. Vogue
Debut novels like this are rare, indeed. . . . The most remarkable quality of this novel is Cline s ability to articulate the anxieties of adolescence in language that s gorgeously poetic without mangling the authenticity of a teenager s consciousness. The adult s melancholy reflection and the girl s swelling impetuousness are flawlessly braided together. . . . For a story that traffics in the lurid notoriety of the Manson murders, The Girlsis an extraordinary act of restraint. With the maturity of a writer twice her age, Cline has written a wise novel that s never showy: a quiet, seething confession of yearning and terror. The Washington Post
Emma Cline has an unparalleled eye for the intricacies of girlhood, turning the stuff of myth into something altogether more intimate. She reminds us that behind so many of our culture s fables exists a girl: unseen, unheard, angry. This book will break your heart and blow your mind. Lena Dunham
Emma Cline s first novel positively hums with fresh, startling, luminous prose. The Girls announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in American fiction. Jennifer Egan
I don t know which is more amazing, Emma Cline sunderstanding of human beings or her mastery of language. Mark Haddon, New York Times bestselling author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time"


    RELATED ARTICLES

STAFF PICKS: What our staff is reading this summer

Posted August 8, 2016, 9:11 AM with category of The Company
Summer means lazy vacations and digging in to a good book. Here's what's in our summer reading piles (a.k.a. beach bags). Read more




    SHARE THIS
Embedicon
 
9780812998603
eBook

  Choose a format

Price: $21.60/ea
LIST PRICE: $27.00

Hardcover Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 - 24 $21.60 20%
25 - 99 $16.74 38%
100 - 249 $16.20 40%
250 - 499 $15.66 42%
500 - 999 $15.39 43%
ISBN: 9780812998603

About the Hardcover

Publisher Random House
Publish date 06/14/2016
Pages 368
Availability Available
ISBN-13 9780812998603
ISBN-10 081299860X
Language English

Need 1000 or more?

Additional discounts may be available for print books. We also offer pricing for RETURNABLE orders. Please call 1-800-236-7323 or email us to request a quote.


Interested in eBooks?

If you would like pricing and availability on eBooks (25 copy minimum/US billing only), click the link below to send an email directly to our trusted digital distribution partner, BookShout.
Request a quote for eBooks

Other questions about eBooks can be directed to support@800ceoread.com.