Healing Children: A Surgeon's Stories from the Frontiers of Pediatric Medicine

By Kurt Newman
A groundbreaking medical memoir by one of our nation's leading pediatric surgeons

"If you did nothing but read the astounding, miraculous and occasionally crushing stories that Dr. Newman so vividly relates about daily life in a pediatric hospital you would be enthralled by Healing Children. But there is a bigger truth to this book, a more compelling reason to read it. . . An amazing look at the tenacity and courage of kids and doctors under difficult circumstances." - Madeline Levine, author of The Price of Privilege

Anyone who has seen a child recover from a wound or a broken bone knows that kids are made to heal. Their bodies are more resilient, more adaptive, and far more able to withstand acute stress than adults'. In this inspiring memoir, Dr. Kurt Newman draws from his long experience as a pediatric surgeon working at one of our nation's top children's hospitals to make the case that children are more than miniature adults. Through the story of his own career and of the brave kids he has treated over the years--and their equally brave and tenacious parents--he reveals the revolution that is taking place in pediatric medicine.

When he decided to become a pediatric surgeon, the field was in its infancy, struggling for esteem. Now, nearly forty years later, it is at the forefront of exhilarating new discoveries in everything from cancer research to mental health care. But few parents know how to access the best care for their children. Far too many find themselves frustrated and afraid.

Dr. Newman wrote this book to help guide parents--not just of sick kids but of all kids --and to share his knowledge of what children need to thrive. A deeply human story with a spectacular cast of young heroes and heroines, Healing Children will convince you that we still have a lot to learn from our kids.



    REVIEW QUOTES
Advanced Praise for Healing Children: -If you did nothing but read the astounding, miraculous and occasionally crushing stories that Dr. Newman so vividly relates about daily life in a pediatric hospital you would be enthralled by Healing Children. But there is a bigger truth to this book, a more compelling reason to read it. And that is to acknowledge not only the courage of young patients and pediatric physicians alike, but to be brought face to face with the many ways that we don't prioritize children's health. That with the vast resources of this country, pediatric hospitals are few and far between, pediatricians are generally underpaid and, most of all, research dollars are hard to come by. Healing Children is an amazing look at the tenacity and courage of kids and doctors under difficult circumstances. But it is also a cri de coeur for prioritizing the health and well-being of our youngest and often our most vulnerable citizens- our children.- -- Madeline Levine, Ph.D. author of The Price of Privilege and Teach Your Children Well -As a parent who has seen Dr. Newman at work, both as a surgeon on our young son and as CEO of one of the top children's hospitals in the country, I know this book comes from the heart. It is a great testament to the importance of the doctor-patient relationship and really tells us what families really need to know. With this moving memoir full of personal stories, Dr. Newman illuminates the importance of caring for the youngest among us. We can all learn from that journey.- -- Bret Baier, Chief Political Anchor, Fox News Channel and bestselling author of Special Heart: a Journey of Faith, Hope Courage and Love -In this deeply moving and personal book, Kurt Newman shares the inspiring stories of the children he has treated and reveals what he has learned from them. In the tradition of Jerome Groopman and Atul Gawande, he helps us to learn about medical issues while feeling the emotions of real-life situations. Healing Children includes a lot of practical advice for parents, but it is a book for everyone who cares to understand the beauties and mysteries of health.- --Walter Isaacson, bestselling author of Einstein and Steve Jobs -Healing Children brings Dr. Newman's interactions with children and families to life while poignantly sharing how they impacted his career, his leadership and his humanism. As a pediatric emergency physician, I identify with his insights into the lives of children and families. Kurt celebrates children and what they teach us every day in the practice of the noble field of medicine.- - Karen Remley, MD, MBA, MPH, FAAP, Professor of Pediatrics, Eastern Virginia Medical School -With nearly 40 years of experience, Newman, a veteran surgeon, liberally shares a variety of personal stories and case histories from children in his clinical practice. He laments that pediatric medicine is 'painfully undervalued and underfunded' while adult diseases garner the majority of the attention, financial support, and clinical investments within the American medical community. To illustrate the need to re-evaluate how children's medicine is perceived and to reprioritize its importance, the author introduces readers to some of the brave, resilient children he has treated throughout his coming-of-age surgical residencies and his long-standing tenure in pediatric medicine. He also spotlights many pioneering medical professionals who continue to be committed to the betterment of treating and healing ill children... Newman cites heart-rending instances of genetic abnormalities, cancer, severely underweight babies, and overprotective parents, all briskly described yet carrying the emotional weight that accompanies an innocent child enduring a painful health crisis. Written primarily as a guide for parents navigating the unpredictable health of their children, the book also addresses the future of pediatric care, as Newman delves into the most innovative therapies and initiatives in development. As the current CEO of Children's National in Washington, D.C., the author sets forth a convincing argument to place children's medical requirements and their need to thrive well into adulthood at the forefront of American medicine, and he admits that 'these kids have been my real teachers.' ...Newman's compassionate approach hits the heart and soul of these unique experiences. A genuine and inspiring chronicle of a doctor fighting the good fight.- --Kirkus Reviews



    SHARE THIS
Embedicon
 
9780525428831
eBook

  Choose a format

Price: $21.60/ea
LIST PRICE: $27.00

Bulk Hardcover Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 - 24 $21.60 20%
25 - 99 $16.74 38%
100 - 249 $16.20 40%
250 - 499 $15.66 42%
500 - 999 $15.39 43%
ISBN: 9780525428831

About the Hardcover

Publisher Viking
Publish date 06/13/2017
Pages 272
ISBN-13 9780525428831
ISBN-10 0525428836
Language English

Need 1000 or more?

Additional discounts may be available for print books. We also offer pricing for RETURNABLE orders. Please call 1-800-236-7323 or email us to request a quote.