Like Family: Growing Up in Other People's Houses, a Memoir

By Paula Mc Lain
In the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's Boys of My Youth, and Mary Karr'sThe Liar's Club, Paula McLain has written a powerful and haunting memoir about the years she and her two sisters spent as foster children. In the early 70s, after being abandoned by both parents, the girls were made wards of the Fresno County, California court and spent the next 14 years-in a series of adoptive homes. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of a captivating memoir. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.


  Choose a format

Price: $15.99/ea

1 $15.99 9780316400602 No volume discount available.

About the Paperback

Publisher Back Bay Books
Publish date 08/06/2013
Pages 288
ISBN-13 9780316400602
ISBN-10 0316400602
Language English