My Share of the Task: A Memoir

By General Stanley Mc Chrystal, Stanley A Mc Chrystal
"General McChrystal is a legendary warrior with a fine eye for enduring lessons about leadership, courage, and consequence." --Tom Brokaw

General Stanley McChrystal is widely admired for his hunger to know the truth, his courage to find it, and his humility to listen to those around him. Even as the commanding officer of all U.S. and coalition forces in Afghanistan, he stationed himself forward and frequently went on patrols with his troops to experience their challenges firsthand. In this illuminating New York Times bestseller, McChrystal frankly explores the major episodes and controversies of his career. He describes the many outstanding leaders he served with and the handful of bad leaders he learned not to emulate. And he paints a vivid portrait of how the military establishment turned itself, in one generation, into the adaptive, resilient force that would soon be tested in Iraq, Afghanistan, and the wider War on Terror.

"A compelling account of his impressive career." -The Wall Street Journal '

"This is a brilliant book about leadership wrapped inside a fascinating personal narrative." -Walter Isaacson, author of Steve Jobs

Stanley McChrystal retired in July 2010 as a four-star general in the U.S. Army. His last assignment was as the commander of the International Security Assistance Force and as the commander of U.S. forces in Afghanistan. He is currently a senior fellow at Yale University's Jackson Institute for Global Affairs and cofounder of the McChrystal Group, a leadership consulting firm. He and his wife, Annie, live in Virginia.



    REVIEW QUOTES
General McChrystal is a legendary warrior with a fine eye for enduring lessons about leadership, courage, and consequence. He took me inside the command bunker, on nighttime raids, and through the fog of war, political and military. "My Share of the Task "is an important, riveting, and instructive account of the triumphs and trials of America s two longest wars.

TOM BROKAW, author of "The Greatest Generation "

Written in the tradition of Ulysses S. Grant, "My Share of the Task "is a clear, compelling, self-critical, and utterly unpretentious memoir. I know of no better book on the nature of modern military command.

JOHN LEWIS GADDIS, author of "George F. Kennan: An American Life "

This is a brilliant book about leadership wrapped inside a fascinating personal narrative. By describing his own life, and especially his command in Afghanistan, General McChrystal helps us understand the modern missions of the military. More than that, he provides lessons about leadership and values that are indispensable in our daily lives. It s a deeply inspiring tale.

WALTER ISAACSON, author of "Steve Jobs "and "Benjamin Franklin "

Stanley McChrystal has written the finest military memoir of his generation. Lucid, thoughtful, and steeped in military and strategic history, "My Share of the Task "is not just the story of one man s service; it is the story of the development of a new way of war. This book is not just for aficionados of military history or for students of American foreign policy; it s for anyone who wants to understand the challenges of leadership in America today.

WALTER RUSSELL MEAD, author of "Special Providence "and "God and Gold "

A remarkable memoir by one of the most exceptional and thoughtful leaders of his generation.

RORY STEWART, author of "The Places in Between""




    SHARE THIS
Embedicon
 
9781591846826
eBook

  Choose a format

Price: $16.00/ea
LIST PRICE: $20.00

Bulk Paperback Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 - 24 $16.00 20%
25 - 99 $12.40 38%
100 - 249 $12.00 40%
250 - 499 $11.60 42%
500 - 999 $11.40 43%
ISBN: 9781591846826

About the Paperback

Publisher Portfolio
Publish date 01/28/2014
Pages 461
ISBN-13 9781591846826
ISBN-10 159184682X
Language English

Need 1000 or more?

Additional discounts may be available for print books. We also offer pricing for RETURNABLE orders. Please call 1-800-236-7323 or email us to request a quote.