Outside in: The Power of Putting Customers at the Center of Your Business — Business Books in Bulk - 800-CEO-READ

Outside in: The Power of Putting Customers at the Center of Your Business

    By Harley Manning, Kerry Bodine, Josh Bernoff


For readers of "Delivering Happiness "and "The New Gold Standard"--a revolutionary approach to understanding and mastering the customer experience from Forrester Research.


From the Publisher:
Companies pay lip service to "delighting customers" while simultaneously disappointing them at every opportunity. Turning customers into passionate fans is a cheap and incredibly powerful way to boost profits--but to do it, you have to see your business the way your customers do. You have to walk in your customers' shoes from the very moment they decide to try your product. Today, companies compete not just on what they offer but on every aspect of the customer experience. This shift requires a new way to manage: from the outside in. Forrester Research analysts Harley Manning and Kerry Bodine explain how to get your organization in tune with the real needs of your customers. Key lessons include:

  • Customer experience is worth billions. Forrester's research shows it to be a strong predictor of three of the most common loyalty metrics used by businesses today: likelihood to make another purchase, likelihood to switch business to a competitor, and likelihood to recommend to a friend.
  • A whole new paradigm. Customer experience is not just customer service. It spans the entire company, encompassing finance, legal, marketing, human resources, information technology, and product development.  
  • Decide on what your strategy "isn't." Your company can deliver the white-glove treatment of a Ritz-Carlton, the no-frills experience of Sam's Club, or something else entirely. But it can't do everything. Companies struggle when they fail to narrow down their approach to customer experience.
  • Surprising case studies. Companies as diverse as Comcast, Dunkin' Brands, Oracle, and USAA have brought a new sheriff to town: a single executive leading customer experience across a business unit or an entire company. These executives effect long-term, powerful transformations.

Customer experience spells the difference between an angry support e-mail and a passionate new evangelist. Forrester's unmatched sources of insight and analytical tools put Manning and Bodine in a unique position to deliver definitive insight into a subject whose time has come.


Harley Manning founded Forrester's customer experience research practice when he joined the firm in 1998. Today he leads a team of analysts that cover enterprise-level customer experience topics ranging from strategy to metrics and business models. Kerry Bodine leads Forrester's research on experience design. Kerry's research, analysis, and opinions appear frequently on sites like Harvard Business Review, Forbes, and Advertising Age, and she blogs for Forrester and 1to1 Media.


NEWS: The 2012 800-CEO-READ Business Book Awards Shortlist:
General Business

Posted December 10, 2012, 5:17 PM with category of General Business
And. . . Read more

NEWS: Outside In

Posted August 15, 2012, 3:14 PM with category of General Business
Customer experience is it. While it's increasingly difficult to set yourself apart from your competitors with regard to innovation or product offerings, there seems yet to be a huge opportunity for companies to excel in providing a superior customer experience. According to this new book from Harley Manning and Kerry Bodine, there is a lot of money at stake in the customer experience game. Read more


  Choose a format

Price: $14.50/ea
LIST PRICE: $25.00

Hardcover Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 + $14.50 42%
ISBN: 9780547913988
ISBN 9780547913988
Language English
Pages 272
Publish Date 08/01/2012
Published 08/2012
Publisher New Harvest