Sidetracked: Why Our Decisions Get Derailed, and How We Can Stick to the Plan

By Francesca Gino
You may not realize it but simple, irrelevant factors can have profound consequences on your decisions and behavior, often diverting you from your original plans and desires. "Sidetracked" will help you identify and avoid these influences so the decisions you make "do" stickand you finally reach your intended goals.
Psychologist and Harvard Business School professor Francesca Gino has long studied the factors at play when judgment and decision making collide with the results of our choices in real life. In this book she explores inconsistent decisions played out in a wide range of circumstancesfrom our roles as consumers and employees (what we buy, how we manage others) to the choices that we make more broadly as human beings (who we date, how we deal with friendships). From Gino s research, we see when a mismatch is most likely to occur between what we "want" and what we end up doing. What factors are likely to sway our decisions in directions we did not initially consider? And what can we do to correct for the subtle influences that derail our decisions? The answers to these and similar questions will help you negotiate similar factors when faced with them in the real world.
For fans of Dan Ariely and Daniel Kahneman, this book will help you better understand the nuances of your decisions and how they get derailedso you have more control over keeping them on track.


NEWS & OPINION: Sidetracked: Why Our Decisions Get Derailed...

Posted February 25, 2013, 5:05 PM with category of Management & Workplace Culture
Over on KnowledgeBlocks I posted this passage** from Sidetracked: Why Our Decisions Get Derailed, and How We Can Stick to the Plan: You need to acknowledge that forces from within ourselves, forces from our relationships with others, and forces from the outside have powerful and predictable effects on our decisions. Consider that most of us have no trouble acknowledging that we do not know how our kidneys or other body parts work, and we are open to learning more about them, especially when we are sick. Too often, however, we assume that we know exactly what's going on in our minds when we face and make decisions, despite the fact that many of our past decisions have led to disappointing outcomes. Read more


  Choose a format

Price: $22.40/ea
LIST PRICE: $28.00

Bulk Hardcover Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 - 24 $22.40 20%
25 - 99 $19.60 30%
100 - 499 $18.20 35%
500 - 999 $17.64 37%
ISBN: 9781422142691

About the Hardcover

Publisher Harvard Business School Press
Publish date 02/26/2013
Pages 272
ISBN-13 9781422142691
ISBN-10 1422142698
Language English

Need 1000 or more?

Additional discounts may be available for print books. We also offer pricing for RETURNABLE orders. Please call 1-800-236-7323 or email us to request a quote.