Stir: My Broken Brain and the Meals That Brought Me Home

By Jessica Fechtor
"M.F.K. Fisher meets Brain on Fire in this exquisite memoir of a 28-year-old food blogger who cooks her way back to health after a near-fatal aneurysm. Jessica Fechtor was on top of the world: a Harvard graduate student, happily married, and thinking about starting a family. Then, while attending an academic conference, she went for a run and an aneurysm burst in her brain. Multiple surgeries left her skull startlingly deformed. She lost her sense of smell, the sight in her left eye, and her confidence about who she was and what mattered. Jessica's journey to recovery began in the kitchen as soon as she was strong enough to stand at the stovetop and stir. There, she learned about the restorative powers of kneading, salting, and sifting, that food had something to tell her, and that it felt good to listen. For readers of Molly Wizenberg, Tamar Adler, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, as well as Oliver Sacks and Jill Bolte Taylor, Stir is a memoir (with recipes) of what it means to fix what's broken and live with what can't be fixed, to nourish and be nourished, to remember what it is to be hungry, honor that hunger, and learn how to feed it


    RELATED ARTICLES

STAFF PICKS: What books are on your holiday nightstand?

Posted November 23, 2015, 8:00 AM with category of The Company
The 800-CEO-READ family is all set for the Thanksgiving holiday, and have some great books on hand to take with us to the couch after the feasting is done! Read more




    SHARE THIS
Embedicon
 
9781101983638
eBook

  Choose a format

Price: $12.80/ea
LIST PRICE: $16.00

Bulk Paperback Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 - 24 $12.80 20%
25 - 99 $11.20 30%
100 - 499 $10.40 35%
500 - 999 $10.08 37%
ISBN: 9781101983638

About the Paperback

Publisher Plume Books
Publish date 04/05/2016
Pages 288
ISBN-13 9781101983638
ISBN-10 1101983639
Language English

Need 1000 or more?

Additional discounts may be available for print books. We also offer pricing for RETURNABLE orders. Please call 1-800-236-7323 or email us to request a quote.


Categorized Under