The Iran Wars: Spy Games, Bank Battles, and the Secret Deals That Reshaped the Middle East

By Jay Solomon
From theWall Street Journalreporter who s been breaking news on the historic and potentially disastrous Iran nuclear deal comes a deeply reported exploration of the country s decades-long power struggle with the United States for readers of Steve Coll sGhost Warsand Lawrence Wright sThe Looming Tower
For more than a decade, the United States has been engaged in a war with Iran as momentous as any other in the Middle East a war all the more significant as it has largely been hidden from public view. Through a combination of economic sanctions, global diplomacy, and intelligence work, successive U.S. administrations have struggled to contain Iran s aspirations to become a nuclear power and dominate the region what many view as the most serious threat to peace in the Middle East. Meanwhile, Iran has used regional instability to its advantage to undermine America s interests. The Iran Wars is an absorbing account of a battle waged on many levels military, financial, and covert.
Jay Solomon s book is the product of extensive in-depth reporting and interviews with all the key players in the conflict from high-ranking Iranian officials to Secretary of State John Kerry and his negotiating team. With a reporter s masterly investigative eye and the narrative dexterity of a great historian, Solomon shows how Iran s nuclear development went unnoticed for years by the international community only to become its top security concern. He catalogs the blunders of both the Bush and Obama administrations as they grappled with how to engage Iran, producing a series of both carrots and sticks. And he takes us inside the hotel suites where the 2015 nuclear agreement was negotiated, offering a frank assessment of the uncertain future of the U.S.-Iran relationship.
This is a book rife with revelations, from the secret communications between the Obama administration and the Iranian government to dispatches from the front lines of the new field of financial warfare. For readers of Steve Coll s Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright s The Looming Tower, The Iran Wars exposes the hidden history of a conflict most Americans don t even realize is being fought, but whose outcome could have far-reaching geopolitical implications.
Praise for The Iran Wars

The use of the word wars, plural, in the title of this illuminating book tells the story: U.S.-Iranian relations have been troubled for many years. This deeply researched account of negotiations and their implications makes an important contribution to understanding the short- and long-term consequences of how we manage this difficult relationship. George P. Shultz, former secretary of state
An illuminating, deeply reported account from one of the best journalists writing about the Middle East today. Jay Solomon s The Iran Wars offers a front-row view of the spy games, assassinations, political intrigue and high-stakes diplomacy that have defined relations with one of America s most cunning and dangerous foes. Joby Warrick, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Black Flags: The Rise of ISIS
A thorough yet concise survey of Iran s buildup of nuclear technology since the 1980s, its troubling exporting of Shiite insurgency in countries around it, and the changing American reaction. Wall Street Journal chief foreign affairs correspondent [Jay] Solomon offers an evenhanded look at the backdoor schemes involving the building of Iran s nuclear weapons and the world players involved in and against its machinations. Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review)"


    REVIEW QUOTES
Advance praise for The Iran Wars The use of the word wars, plural, in the title of this illuminating book tells the story: U.S.-Iranian relations have been troubled for many years. This deeply researched account of negotiations and their implications makes an important contribution to understanding the short- and long-term consequences of how we manage this difficult relationship. George P. Shultz, former Secretary of State An illuminating, deeply reported account from one of the best journalists writing about the Middle East today. Jay Solomon sTheIran Warsoffers a front-row view of the spy games, assassinations, political intrigue and high-stakes diplomacy that have defined relations with one of America s most cunning and dangerous foes. Joby Warrick, Pulitzer Prize winning author ofBlack Flags: The Rise of ISIS A thorough yet concise survey of Iran s buildup of nuclear technology since the 1980s, its troubling exporting of Shiite insurgency in countries around it, and the changing American reaction. Wall Street Journal chief foreign affairs correspondent [Jay] Solomon offers an evenhanded look at the backdoor schemes involving the building of Iran s nuclear weapons and the world players involved in and against its machinations. . . . In addition to in-depth research, Solomon enlists his own countless interviews and extensive on-site reporting to provide a sound, timely, authoritative expose. Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review) "
Advance praise for "The Iran Wars" The use of the word wars, plural, in the title of this illuminating book tells the story: U.S.-Iranian relations have been troubled for many years. This deeply researched account of negotiations and their implications makes an important contribution to understanding the short- and long-term consequences of how we manage this difficult relationship. George P. Shultz, former Secretary of State An illuminating, deeply reported account from one of the best journalists writing about the Middle East today. Jay Solomon s"The""Iran Wars"offers a front-row view of the spy games, assassinations, political intrigue and high-stakes diplomacy that have defined relations with one of America s most cunning and dangerous foes. Joby Warrick, Pulitzer Prize winning author of"Black Flags: The Rise of ISIS " A thorough yet concise survey of Iran s buildup of nuclear technology since the 1980s, its troubling exporting of Shiite insurgency in countries around it, and the changing American reaction. "Wall Street Journal" chief foreign affairs correspondent [Jay] Solomon offers an evenhanded look at the backdoor schemes involving the building of Iran s nuclear weapons and the world players involved in and against its machinations. . . . In addition to in-depth research, Solomon enlists his own countless interviews and extensive on-site reporting to provide a sound, timely, authoritative expose. "Kirkus Reviews" (Starred Review) """



    SHARE THIS
Embedicon
 
9780812993646
eBook

  Choose a format

Price: $22.40/ea
LIST PRICE: $28.00

Bulk Hardcover Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 - 24 $22.40 20%
25 - 99 $17.36 38%
100 - 249 $16.80 40%
250 - 499 $16.24 42%
500 - 999 $15.96 43%
ISBN: 9780812993646

About the Hardcover

Publisher Random House
Publish date 08/23/2016
Pages 352
ISBN-13 9780812993646
ISBN-10 0812993640
Language English

Need 1000 or more?

Additional discounts may be available for print books. We also offer pricing for RETURNABLE orders. Please call 1-800-236-7323 or email us to request a quote.