Titan: The Life of John D. Rockefeller, Sr. — Business Books in Bulk - 800-CEO-READ

Titan: The Life of John D. Rockefeller, Sr.

    By Ron Chernow
John D. Rockefeller, Sr.--history's first billionaire and the patriarch of America's most famous dynasty--is an icon whose true nature has eluded three generations of historians. Now Ron Chernow, the National Book Award-winning biographer of the Morgan and Warburg banking families, gives us a history of the mogul "etched with uncommon objectivity and literary grace . . . as detailed, balanced, and psychologically insightful a portrait of the tycoon as we may ever have" (Kirkus Reviews). Titan is the first full-length biography based on unrestricted access to Rockefeller's exceptionally rich trove of papers. A landmark publication full of startling revelations, the book will indelibly alter our image of this most enigmatic capitalist.
Born the son of a flamboyant, bigamous snake-oil salesman and a pious, straitlaced mother, Rockefeller rose from rustic origins to become the world's richest man by creating America's most powerful and feared monopoly, Standard Oil. Branded "the Octopus" by legions of muckrakers, the trust refined and marketed nearly 90 percent of the oil produced in America.
Rockefeller was likely the most controversial businessman in our nation's history. Critics charged that his empire was built on unscrupulous tactics: grand-scale collusion with the railroads, predatory pricing, industrial espionage, and wholesale bribery of political officials. The titan spent more than thirty years dodging investigations until Teddy Roosevelt and his trustbusters embarked on a marathon crusade to bring Standard Oil to bay.
While providing abundant new evidence of Rockefeller's misdeeds, Chernow discards the stereotype of the cold-blooded monster to sketch an unforgettably human portrait of a quirky, eccentric original. A devout Baptist and temperance advocate, Rockefeller gave money more generously--his chosen philanthropies included the Rockefeller Foundation, the University of Chicago, and what is today Rockefeller University--than anyone before him. Titan presents a finely nuanced portrait of a fascinating, complex man, synthesizing his public and private lives and disclosing numerous family scandals, tragedies, and misfortunes that have never before come to light.
John D. Rockefeller's story captures a pivotal moment in American history, documenting the dramatic post-Civil War shift from small business to the rise of giant corporations that irrevocably transformed the nation. With cameos by Joseph Pulitzer, William Randolph Hearst, Jay Gould, William Vanderbilt, Ida Tarbell, Andrew Carnegie, Carl Jung, J. Pierpont Morgan, William James, Henry Clay Frick, Mark Twain, and Will Rogers, Titan turns Rockefeller's life into a vivid tapestry of American society in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. It is Ron Chernow's signal triumph that he narrates this monumental saga with all the sweep, drama, and insight that this giant subject deserves.

"From the Hardcover edition.""

Ron Chernow's first book, The House of Morgan, won the National Book Award and the Ambassador Award for the year's best study of American culture. His second book, The Warburgs, won the Eccles Prize as the Best Business Book of 1993 and was also selected by the American Library Association as one of that year's best nonfiction books. In reviewing his recent collection of essays, The Death of the Banker, The New York Times called the author "as elegant an architect of monumental histories as we've seen in decades and chose the paperback original as one of the year's Notable Books.


THINKER IN RESIDENCE: Thinker in Residence - Ryan Holiday on Business & Books

Posted May 9, 2014, 12:28 AM with category of Personal Development
"How do you not delude yourself with a story about your business but stay focused on the vision you have for it five years down the road? " ~Ryan Holiday Read more

NEWS: How Did They Do It?

Posted August 5, 2011, 2:06 PM with category of General Business
In our The 100 Best Business Books of All Time, we included a chapter of recommended biographies. Jack has always championed the form as a valid way to learn valuable business lessons, not just as good entertainment. In the opening of the chapter, we explained: How did they do it? Read more

NEWS: An Embarrassment of Riches

Posted October 6, 2010, 2:38 PM with category of General Business
In 1997, Sebastian Junger wrote a great book called The Perfect Storm. The phrase, “a perfect storm” is used when multiple things come together to create an extraordinary experience. That thought fleeted through my mind last night as I sat reading Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom, because, including Freedom, I’m actually reading three brilliant books in three rather different genres. Read more

NEWS: Joe Nocera's Best Business Books Ever

Posted July 18, 2008, 9:55 PM with category of General Business
Joe Nocera is a columnist for The New York Times who writes about big business, and yesterday my inbox was filled with notes pointing me to his blog. His latest post recommends what he believes are the best business books ever. Here is Nocera's list with his commentary: "Liar's Poker," by Michael Lewis (even though I've since become convinced that the anecdote that gives the book its title never happened). Read more


Posted April 26, 2004, 9:42 PM with category of General Business
In the vein of John Adams and Titan, Ron Chernow has just published Alexander Hamilton. As America's first treasury secretary, Hamilton forged America's tax and budget systems, Custom Service, Coast Guard and the central bank. After spending a rainy weekend reading the book, it is as good as Titan. Read more


  Choose a format
  •   For use in United States   United-states-16

Price: $16.00/ea
LIST PRICE: $20.00

Paperback Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 - 24 $16.00 20%
25 - 99 $12.40 38%
100 - 249 $12.00 40%
250 - 499 $11.60 42%
500 - 999 $11.40 43%
ISBN: 9781400077304

Need 1000 or more?

Additional discounts may be available. Please call 1-800-236-7323 for more information.

You may also place an order online at the highlighted discount for any quantity over 500.
ISBN 9780679757030
Language English
Pages 832
Publish Date 09/01/1999
Published 03/2004
Publisher Vintage Books USA

Interested in eBooks?Please read our brief introduction before purchasing.