Vonnegut: Novels & Stories 1950-1962: Player Piano/The Sirens of Titan/Mother Night/Stories

By Sidney Offit (Editor)
Before winning international fame with "Cat's Cradle "and "Slaughterhouse-Five," Kurt Vonnegut was a master of the drugstore paperback and the popular short story. This authoritative collection of his brilliant early work opens with "Player Piano" (1952), a "Metropolis"-like parable of breakneck technological innovation and its effect on those it robs of their livelihoods. "The Sirens of Titan "(1959), the interplanetary adventures of the world's wealthiest and most despised man, is both a pulp-fiction space opera and a satire on the vanity of human striving. The confessions of a German-American double agent well placed among the Nazi elite, "Mother Night "(1962) is a cautionary tale with a famous moral: We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful about what we pretend to be. Here too are six of Vonnegut's best short stories, gems that display his matchless talent for hilarious invention and caustic social criticism.

A companion volume, "Kurt Vonnegut: Novels & Stories 1963 1973," collects "Cat's Cradle"; "God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater"; "Slaughterhouse-Five"; "Breakfast of Champions"; and three short stories, including Welcometo the Monkey House.


  Choose a format

Price: $28.00/ea
LIST PRICE: $35.00

Bulk Hardcover Non-returnable Discounts
Quantity Price Discount
1 - 24 $28.00 20%
25 - 99 $24.50 30%
100 - 499 $22.75 35%
500 - 999 $22.05 37%
ISBN: 9781598531503

About the Hardcover

Publisher Library of America
Publish date 04/26/2012
Pages 864
ISBN-13 9781598531503
ISBN-10 1598531506
Language English

Need 1000 or more?

Additional discounts may be available for print books. We also offer pricing for RETURNABLE orders. Please call 1-800-236-7323 or email us to request a quote.